Brief history and notable achievements

  • 1998 Maidstone Winds launched by Brendon Le Page. First concert held in October at The Corn Exchange, Maidstone
  • 2001 - Tour to Roeselare, Maidstone's twin town in Belgium, with Maidstone Youth Wind Orchestra
  • 2001 - Appearance at the Mayor's Grand Charity Gala Concert at Mote Hall, Maidstone
  • 2001 Performance at the opening of the Hermitage Millennium Amphitheatre in Maidstone
  • 2004 Jeremy Cooper appointed as the bands second Music Director
  • 2008 10th Anniversary Concert at The Friars, Aylesford
  • 2010 Jonathan Crowhurst appointed as third Music Director
  • 2012 First professional recording Slide Projections, featuring trombonist Brett Baker
  • 2014 Performance at the inaugural National Concert Band Symposium and Kent Festival of Wind and Brass
  • 2015 Winners of the National Concert Band Symposium with guest conductor Tom Davoren
  • 2015 MWS became the headline orchestra for Maidstones annual Proms in the Park
  • 2017 Second professional recording Roar! The Wind Band Music of Andy Scott
  • 2018 - Release of Christmas EP, A Christmas Festival
  • 2019 - 20th Anniversary Concert at All Saints Church, featuring founding MD Brendon le Page and trombonist Brett Baker
  • 2019 - Roger Graham appointed as fourth Music Director

MWS is proud to have performed with the following guest soloists:

Rex Richardson (trumpet), Steven Mead (euphonium), Les Neish (tuba), Andy Andy Findon (flute), Andrew Watts (countertenor), Brett Baker (trombone), Glenn Van Looy (euphonium), David Thornton (euphonium), Huw Morgan (trumpet), Tim Watson (saxophone), Gary Curtin (euphonium), Gavin Pritchard (percussion), David Campbell (clarinet) as well as emerging artists such as Alastair Pennan (saxophone), Helen Bailey (soprano), Gediminas Varna (tenor), Oliver Hickie (horn), Phillip Leslie (piano), Sally MacTaggart (saxophone) and Anthony Brown (saxophone).

We have been proud to perform world and/or UK premieres of music by the following composers:

Peter Meechan, Nigel Clarke, Peter Graham, Jan Sandstrm, Andrew Baker, Jeff Tyzik, Ferrer Ferran, Frank Ticheli, Simon Dobson , Stan Nieuwenhuis , Joel Puckett, Paul Lovatt Cooper, Bert Appermont , John Mackey, in addition to recent releases featuring music by Rob Wiffin, Johan De Meij, Philip Sparke, Jan Van der Roost and Andy Scott.

Maidstone Wind Symphony

Registered Charity no. 1156003

Accessibility | Sitemap | Privacy | Terms and conditions
Powered by Conceptulise CMS

Keep up to date

Get the latest information from Maidstone Wind Symphony by joining our email newsletter.

@MaidstoneWinds on Twitter